The Hangover – Part 2

The Hangover – Part 2”   229751id1_HO2_27x40_1Sheet_0410.indd

I know I bashed the 1stHangover” film, and I may seem to have been of two minds about it.  On one hand I said that film was pretty ridiculous as far as a plot, and on the other, I was saying it was still pretty funny.  Well, the sequel “Hangover Part 2” is far easier to critique.  It’s a lot funnier than the original and the sort of wackiness that ensues this time out for the Wolf Pack can be explained.  They’re in Thailand this time and the events here actually don’t seem that unrealistic or far-fetched, no matter how outlandish they really are.

I found myself laughing more readily at the jokes in this one.  You will pity poor Ed Helms in this sequel, because last time out he ONLY lost a tooth!  In this one…let’s just say it’s a lot more permanent and UGLY!  There’s so much more going on in this film rather than the original.  It’s like the screenwriters decided “what else can we throw at them”, but it all works beautifully!  There is riot, half a city block in flames, tattoos, strippers, a missing “super son”, a cigarette-smoking monkey, and of course Mr. Chow.  This guy is hilarious in this film!  What a character!!!  The plot is familiar – all too familiar to the Wolf Pack – but this time they aren’t just racing to find someone in time for a wedding.  They also must find someone before “Bangkok has them”.  Classic!

I really don’t want to say much more than this about “Hangover Part 2” except to say that I found it immensely superior to the original.  Maybe I was just better prepared for this kind of bedlam to happen?  I don’t know, but that seems possible.  Like I said, I laughed more readily at this film.  I do have to add that Zach Galifianakis’ character Alan is priceless.  He ranks right up there with Will Ferell’s “Frank the Tank” from “Old School” in my book.  Do yourself a favor and watch this one when you need a good belly-laugh!

…and that’s it for this edition of THE REEL VOICE.

One thought on “The Hangover – Part 2

  1. Pingback: The Hangover | The Reel Voice

Leave a Reply

