The Vow

The Vow”  The_Vow_Poster

I took my beautiful Valentine out for the Holiday weekend and we caught “the Vow”.  I thought it looked rather appealing from the trailer for it.  It stars Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams.  I like Rachel McAdams and I figured it would be a solid film with her in it.  It’s definitely a romantic film, so I figured that it would be perfect for a Valentine’s Day date.  (Sometimes, I REALLY like it when I pick the perfect film and my wife loves it – and that’s exactly what happened with “the Vow”.)

Rachel  McAdams plays a gal that suffers a traumatic brain injury via an car accident that she endures along with her husband, played by Channing Tatum.  The tale centers around the fact that when she finally awakes in the hospital, she no longer remembers her husband (or her entire life over the last 4 years).  After seeing her in “Red Eye” (a remarkable little movie, truly) I knew I would always be interested in what she was doing, but it was “the Notebook” (which I saw WAAAAAAAY after it was out on DVD) that made me say that she has real star power.  She can be a lot of things as 1 character – funny, sad, charming, angry, depressed – which I think makes her invaluable to roles such as this one.

There are a couple of things about this that hit me a little different than maybe was the intention.  Number 1 on that list: my nephew and Godson suffered a traumatic brain injury just this past year and I cannot express how similar some of those scenes in the hospital were to the real life situation that my sister’s family endured.  I am now very familiar with the phrase “traumatic brain injury” and I know a lot more about exactly what that means.  Number 2 on that list: as I still feel like a newlywed (and I will for my whole life) when I see a couple endure something as dramatic as this, I get a little tense inside.  My 1st thought is: what if that happened to my wife?  So I was watching this whole film cheering on the husband and all of his efforts and praying that her memory comes back!

On that note, Channing Tatum is not who I would have imagined as the lead in a romantic film like this.  I think the last thing I saw him in was “G.I. Joe: the Rise of Cobra” which was NOT good (and I’m being generous).  I see him in interviews and on the Red Carpet and I am actually predisposed to liking this actor – but I just haven’t seen him do anything that great yet.  In fact, most things I have seen him in are really quite awful.  Well, not any more.  Tatum is emotional yet controlled, believable and likeable, and actually kind of funny at the same time.  He had believably real chemistry with McAdams which made their on-screen romance seem completely real to me.

There are a lot of great moments in this film, a lot of great lines.  That’s really refreshing to see too.  A movie with great lines that is NOT a comedy???  It’s practically unheard of in Hollywood today!  Like I said, the stars are well cast and do a fine job.  But maybe the greatest thing about this film is the ending.  The movie was inspired by a true story, which makes it even better in my opinion.  The ending is not what I expected, which I actually ended up liking even more than if it had been what I was expecting.    The ending also made the entire film feel even more believable.  Of course, that’s when you see a picture of the real couple and you learn of their real story.  It was an awfully nice way to spend Valentine’s Day (even if it was a day or so early) with my sweetheart.  I recommend you do the same when watching “the Vow”.

…and that’s it for this edition of THE REEL VOICE.

Leave a Reply

